Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell: Book Hangover

I just finished reading Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell.

It was a REALLY GOOD BOOK and I HIGHLY RECOMMEND YOU ALL READ IT if you’re into quirky YA novels. I am. I love YA novels. I will probably always love YA novels. And as a new reader of Rainbow Rowell, I quite enjoy her writing style.

Although I was basically live-blogging my frustration throughout the book to Betsy while I was reading it. It’s about a girl named Cath (who’s full name is Cather and has a twin named Wren, get it? Cather-wren? Catherine.) who’s a total awkward as fuck introvert, obsessed with an, IMO, HORRIBLE fictional series that basically sounds like a super shitty mix between Twilight and Harry Potter, called the Simon Snow series, and she writes fanfiction about it. Like is totally immersed and absorbed into the world of Simon Snow and the SS fanfic world. It’s basically her coping strategy with life.

Anyway, I’m not gonna spoil this book for all of you who might actually want to read it, but one of the main characters if Levi and I’ve never shipped anyone harder than I ship Cath/Levi. Like so hard, I actually opened up fanfiction.net after finishing the book tonight and read some Cath/Levi fanfic because I was like, I NEED MORE CATH/LEVI IN MY LIFE RIGHT NOW. #bookhangover

I’m shipping them so hard, I even SIGNED UP (pretty sure I’m actually already a member, but it’s been so long) on fanfiction.net so that I may eventually write/upload my own Cath/Levi. Yeah. This is serious people.

The ending to this book wasn’t satisfying enough for me, and I think Rainbow Rowell left it kinda open on purpose, so people would write fanfics, which is hilariously ironic, and I kinda like it. BUT I HAVE MANY QUESTIONS.

SPOILER ALERT – DO NOT READ FURTHER IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THE BOOK –

Like, DID CATH AND LEVI HAVE SEX OR DID THEY NOT? Because there’s a few scenes where depending on how you decide to read the passages, it could mean they DID, or it could mean Cath was still a frigid virgin, afraid of anything more than just clothes on making out. Which is what I personally inferred from the text, although again, I was a little confused and though MAYBE, just maybe, Cath was like, alright. Since I love Levi, I’ll have sex with him. I’m a little upset it was explicitly stated whether they did or not. I WANNA KNOW.

Actually that’s about all I really wanted to know. Because that’s what was really left untied. Cath and Wren’s dad becomes irrelevant after Wren’s hospital stay, but I was okay with that because most scenes with their dad were pretty ZZZZZZ. As were all excerpts of Simon Snow and Simon Snow fanfic. I literally flipped through about 70% of that shit without reading it. I couldn’t handle how incredibly horrible the story was. Like, MERWOLVES? Really? A castle surrounded by a moat? Characters named Agatha? No. No no no no no. SNOOZEFEST. Glad they’re not real books. Although there was a very short real fanfic and I almost just vommed seeing it. SMH.

 

Comment!

