I’M A BRIDESMAID!

I can’t believe today is pretty much over. It’s been a long day, but not in a bad way. I met with my friend Amanda at Demetrios to help her check out wedding dresses along with her mom and her fiance’s sister. She actually ended up saying yes to the dress to the first one she tried on. It’s absolutely gorgeous and I want to share it, but I don’t want her fiance to somehow find this blog and see it, so I’ll keep it under wraps for now and if I’m still blogging here in 9 months, I’ll post pictures then.

She also asked me to be a bridesmaid, which I am super thrilled about. I said yes, of course. It’s my first time being a bridesmaid and first wedding of a personal friend’s that I’ll be attending. Although I must admit I am slightly disappointed I’m not MOH, only because I remember discussing her possibly getting married someday a while ago and I got really excited for her and asked if I’d be a bridesmaid and she told me I’d be MOH. I mean obviously things have changed. She’s not with the same guy she was with back then. But still. It’s okay though, this means I have less bridesmaidly duties to perform, like planning the whole bachelorette party and everything like that. However, I did volunteer my crafty-fashion skills to help with the bouquets/corsages/boutonnieres/bridesmaid accessories. I might as well be MOH when it comes to that stuff.

We also picked out the bridesmaid dress(es) for the most part. She fell in love with this Greek style dress with draping cowls on the side.  I’m not sure if she’s set on it though, because I know she didn’t like the price. I think it’s safe to share pictures of that dress, however. So here I am in it! I love the way it looks on me.

1010970_10153291449815322_1655395231_n

 

Later in the day, I was my mom’s date to a banquet honoring her 15 years work at the hospital she works at. It was a really nice event, and it was held in the newly renovated wing of Cobo Center in downtown Detroit, facing the Detroit River and Canada. We were in a massive hall with a gorgeous modern ceiling. It was a really nice event and the food was very good. The hor d’oeuvres were fantastic. I especially liked the fancy boursin cheese and blackberries the size of golfballs, no joke.

Look at my mom looking fabulous.

Look at my mom looking fabulous.

October is definitely turning out to be interesting.

 

Comment!

