The Tattoo Taboo (and more)

It’s taken me a while to come up with a topic worth talking about tonight, but I think I’m going to go with TATTOOS.

I find this to be an interesting subject, as the reactions and opinions are vast and varied among age groups, cultures, religions, and so on. Actually, opinions of body alterations in general are interesting. As a functioning member of society with a tattoo (or two, [it’s split in two] if you want to look at it that way) and a nose piercing, I am all for tattoos, piercings, and body mods. It is important to note that my stance on this did not sway due to my choices – I’ve always been all for it. Always.

Tattoos and piercings have been around for ages. Yet for some reason, if you’re piercing something other than your earlobes, it’s suddenly controversial. You have a tattoo? Welcome to the taboo club. People are very opinionated when it comes to these subjects, and the best part is the people who have the most to say are the ones who are mostly against it all.

 

For example, my dad. I’m not entirely sure how his thoughts work toward tattoos on people outside his family, but I do know that he would probably have a heart attack if he saw a tattoo on my body. He didn’t talk to me for 24 hours after he noticed my nose, and he still throws out a “why don’t you take it out?”  about once a month. I know he regards people with visible tattoos as strange or messed up in the head, which is among the most utterly ridiculous bullshit that comes out of his mouth. There is literally nothing wrong with people’s brains for getting a tattoo or piercing their tongue. However, people like my dad exist, and they do not like it that you would dare display something permanently on your body!

And that’s my favorite part. That these people are so stuck up and full of themselves, that they act as if THEY’RE the ones that sat through the pain of needles piercing their flesh. Excuse you. Excuse you right now. If you don’t like my decision to alter my body, I have news for you: it has literally 0% to do with you, so mind your own business, and shut up cause I didn’t ask for your opinion in the first place. 

And neither does my nose piercing. I truly resent the fact that I’m not allowed to wear a nose hoop at work for the reason that “it could aid in losing sales” and my favorite “you could have a crazy customer who would try to rip it out of your nose”. That would probably never happen, as nose hoops are very closely buddied up to your nostril and you need quite an amazing grip to rip it out. But the fact that someone might not want to buy something from me because I have a gold wire circling my nostril is honestly beyond me. Why is that offensive? What morals, what beliefs am I offending? What sins am I committing? The truth is none, because all of those reasons are manmade. While I was lamenting my decision to get my tattoo, I ran into several “signs” and told me to forget about it and move on, that it’s really okay. My favorite was a song lyric from a Romanian folk song that read “sins are of the earth”, as in they’re manmade. Ironically, I thought it was so brilliant, I decided to add it to my list of tattoos to get in the future.

However, I think the general consciousness of our society as a whole is beginning to get better about this. While people like my dad still exist, they’re beginning to dwindle and become more of the minority, as more people of my generation are growing up and getting tattoos and piercing parts of their bodies you didn’t even know you could get pierced, as well as changing the “rules” and norms of what is and isn’t okay, especially in the workplace. As an artist striving to become CEO of my own fashion company, I vowed long ago that no matter what level of employment my employees will be at, they will 100% be allowed to show their tattoos and piercings without judgement and repercussions. Because it’s really not that big a deal. And one of the best feelings in the world comes from people asking you “what does it mean?”

One thought on “The Tattoo Taboo (and more)

  1. Pingback: Tattoos Taboo? | dacatt86's Blog

Comment!

