I Should’ve Been a Mermaid

I’ve always been fascinated with mermaids. For as long as I can remember. When I was young, I used to draw them all. the. time. I even drew a lineart tattoo design in high school once.

Last year I somehow discovered that there were people out there making working mermaid tails. Actually I think it was an article on AOL about a mom who made ones out of spandex, and I got sucked into the vortex and found there were more mermaid tail artists, including the most famous, The Mertailor, a guy by the name of Eric who specializes in professional grade silicone mermaid tails.

Ever since this discovery, I have been more obsessed with mermaids than ever before. I’ve taught myself to hold my breath longer, to swim better with my legs together, and to dolphin kick better.

I’ve finally decided the time has come for me to make my own mermaid tail. I have a buttload of coupons from Joann’s and I’m about go to do some damage on swimswear spandex.

One day though, one day I will have enough money to splurge and get myself a custom silicone tail. Or 10.

2 Comments

  1. Don’t buy from the mertailor, he’ll end up crushing your dream. God forbid you buy from him and the tail doesn’t fit, you’ll never swim. He won’t refund your money, he won’t fix the tail, and he’ll belittle you and insult you saying it doesn’t fit because you’re too stupid to figure out how to put it on instead of admiring he made it too small. Don’t give him your money just to ruin your dream. Buy from a different mermaid tail maker, there are plenty our there who won’t mistreat you.

    Reply

Comment!

