I Love Organization

I have finally completed another phase in my room cleaning expedition: my closet. The one with hangers, not the bookcase, that’ll be another day.

I organized everything by season, color, style, and pairing coordination as well as cleaned out the bottom of my closet and moved all my shoes down there, along with my purses – although I need to cushion that section with something. Even though I vacuumed and cleaned the bottom of my closet, I feel weird just placing my purse down there nakedly without anything holding them or cushioning them. I might have to go to Target or something for a big plastic container or a cork board roll.

I did end up going to Ikea today for organizers, however. I considered buying some kind of wooden mini bookcases to stick on the shelf in my closet, but decided that it would just add weight to the shelf, especially with clothes thrown in there. So I opted with the Drona series fabric boxes ($4.99 each) and tilted them on their sides to created more storage and utilize the height space I have on the shelf.

I’m very pleased with the outcome, although I think I might also buy another two boxes or so for the other side of the shelf where I currently have a few purses and some books, again to ulitize the height space.

I can’t even begin to describe how happy this organization has made me. It’s like everything just fits in perfect order and all I want to do is keep my closet doors open and stare at my work all day.

Oh! I also bought a new clock – again – thinking that because it doesn’t have a second hand, it won’t tick. I was wrong. I spent $15 on this clock, guys. Had I known it was going to tick, I’d have just left my $6 clock from Target on my wall. But, since Ikea is ~32 miles away, I’m not going to go get my money back. So I moved the Target clock to the bathroom and took down the ghetto bird clock we’ve had in there since the dawn of time.

Still on my list of things to do:
– Clean the side cubbies of my desk
– Clean both Ikea bookcases
– Look through my bookshelf and eliminate books I don’t want anymore
– Look through the 2 foot high stack of magazines I’ve accumulated for the past year
– Wash my carpets
– Paint the doorway and lining of my room. Maybe my closet too.
– Paint the stairwell
– GET TAN

Comment!

