I Graduated, Y’all

Today was the day: the culmination of 3 and a half years of schooling summarized in a ~30 second walk across a stage. I got a considerable amount of loud cheers actually, it felt really good.

There were several highlights to the day.

Prior to the ceremony, all the programs took group pictures together. Alyza and I were in the front row of ours for like a minute before our group photo was taken. The photographer lady was having all of us crouch down so the people behind us could be seen. Apparently the pirate stances Alyza and I were doing were inappropriate because she got really irritated, waved her pointer finger at us and said “no no, I can’t have this – you, come to the front – you two, to the back” and so we were KICKED OUT OF THE FRONT ROW and sent to the back for our group photo. It was actually pretty hilarious.

HNI was of course there (hiii) and upon first seeing him, I WAS ACTUALLY ALLOWED A HUG. (And several more throughout the day – it was rather fantastic, actually, and I should’ve hugged tighter, damnit.) And then he whipped out a recipe for pesto and gave it to me and I was really confused at first, but apparently I asked for it a really long time ago. And in retrospect, I regard this as one of the sweetest things anyone’s ever given me, because it came as a complete surprise and it’s handwritten and awwwwwww. There are other things I’d like to say about this, but I’m too sober, so I’ll keep them to myself. And the last thing I’ll gush about in this section is that I got a picture with him and it’s fabulous.

Lastly, I again didn’t take as many pictures with people or in general of graduation, just like my high school ceremony, and it upsets me. But I know I’m on other’s people’s cameras, so that’s a consoling thing to know. However, of the pictures I did get, I have an absolute favorite and I keep looking at it because it’s ten kinds of glorious.

I mean, really. We had to.

Comment!

