It Took Me 3 Hours to Make This Skirt

I think today was pretty productive.

I hit up Downtown Royal Oak and bought 2 vintage rings from Lost and Found Vintage for $8, one of which is sterling silver. The one in the picture below is Emmons costume jewelry. I’m still trying to figure out if the stone is real aquamarine, CZ, or deceivingly sharp cut glass. I cleaned it up and it looks BEAUTIFUL.

I also went to Barnes and Noble to get away from distractions and finish my Industrial Post article – which I did! It’s been sent off for review. Couldn’t leave without perusing the place though, and I ended up buying 2 books: Crossed by Ally Condie (haven’t read the first one yet, it’s in my pile) and Speechless by Hannah Harrington.

Came home and after wasting some time online telling myself I should get off and do something productive, I decided I wanted to make pillowcases for our couch pillows. The fabric I was going to use was useless though, as it had these huge stickers that left residue I couldn’t get off. So I chose a fabric from my archives, and I was testing it out in the living room against the couches when my mom walked by and said NO.

Soooo, I decided I would attempt to finally make a gathered skirt for myself, like I had originally intended to do when I bought the fabric. 3 hours later, I wound up with a wearable skirt with INSET POCKETS, WUT.

It looks cute, I know. It’s actually skanky in disguise. Can’t bend over or wear it on a day when there is any wind unless you’re wearing tights and/or booty shorts underneath, true story. I also feel like it makes me look like a baby whale cause there’s so many gathers, but oh well.

Comment!

