I Guess I’m “About Dat Lyfe” Now?

There’s something about stepping out of your comfort zone that makes you see the beauty in life and the world around you.

Tonight on my drive home from Detroit my brain got all artsy. First of all, the old train station can be seen from where the studio is, and on my way to the freeway, I get some pretty good views of it on Michigan Ave. And it looks extra gorgeous because despite being abandoned, the city of Detroit has decided to add like…spotlights that light up the outside of the building and it looks like this sweet fucking old building with all these empty floors and black windows.

A picture of the train station that I snapped Summer 2011. Can't believe it's been that long!

A picture of the train station that I snapped Summer 2011. Can’t believe it’s been that long!

I keep trying to grab a picture of it at night but my phone camera really sucks for that shit and I can’t manage to stop my car without looking suspicious. I tried a few times tonight but didn’t get anything good at all.

Anyway, back to my drive. There’s this church on the side of I-75 before it actually become I-75 North that’s lit up at night much like the train station and it is absolutely gorgeous.

I’ve decided that I need to be chauffeured around Detroit at night so I can take pictures of gorgeous buildings like this. Because there’s no way I can take any kind of pictures of places like that while I’m driving. Also, I will not be so naive as to lull myself into the false idea that Detroit is safe. Especially not at night. And not by my suburban white girl self.

Comment!

