New Year, New Closet

It is officially 2013 and while I started this blog in the latter half of 2011, it feels as if I’ve been here for 2 years already.

Last night I went to two NYE parties. The first was a formal party that I braved the freeway 19 miles for. I didn’t stay very long. As more people trickled in, the beer pong began, and pot cookies were starting to be eaten, I found my escape to move on to the next party.

Can we just all take a moment marvel at my beautiful 16″ calves? Amen.

It’s not that I felt uncomfortable per se, but rather that I wanted to ring in the New Year among more than 3 acquaintances. It was kinda funny though because as I was saying my goodbye to Adam, the host, his roommate (also the DJ for the night, and quite the artist, as I noticed through my tour of the house) was in the hallway with us and he pulled him closer and half-whispered something about one of the girls being really hot. I have no idea who he was talking about, but I got a Facebook friend request in the middle of the night from him.

At that point, I felt like I was in a movie and wondered to myself, is this really happening right now? 

And then I drove 23 miles down to Krista and Glenn’s for their NYE LAN party which I didn’t actually expect to be a LAN party and was slightly taken aback when I walked in and there were about 2 people setting up their desktops/laptops in addition to about 4 others already playing and joining in on Chivalry. I think I let out a giggle of approval and then stuffed my face with 4 slices of pizza that tasted like Jesus himself had blessed them. 

We all momentarily gathered in the living room to watch the ball drop and counted down aloud, drank a sip of champagne, and then 10 seconds later bounced back to playing Chivalry. I took pictures. And then I left before 1 AM because I’m too much of a goody-two-shoes (and also I didn’t have anything else to do and Krista was sick.)

And that, my friends, was my NYE night.

Today I spent 3 hours shopping with my mom at Great Lakes Crossing and spent far too much money (ON THINGS I NEEDED THOUGH, HONESTLY), but when I came home, as I was putting clothes away, I cleaned out my closet and removed 3 giant bags worth of old, too big and some unworn items. Because hey, this is a new year, a new closet, and a smaller me. 

Comment!

