Frank 2.0

Day 4. 

Today I am grateful that I feel the aches of physical pain because it means that I’m alive. I’m also grateful that I feel emotional pain because it means I still have my humanity.

I’ve thought long and hard about Frank all day (I also ran into him again today at the gym!) and what he said to me about his out of body experience – that if God let him come back to Earth, he was not allowed to help alter anyone’s life. I think this must be the reason we met.

I have a friend who is extremely unhappy – like legitmately suicidal unhappy. It is in my instincts to help people as much as I can and he is a case that I won’t give up on. I think meeting Frank is a sign from God or the universe or what have you that despite my efforts, I cannot change him. And I know that. All I can do is help him to see the change he can be.

But God, if I could, I would take away all his pain and misery and replace it with all the joy and happiness in the world because he deserves it. But I can’t do that. No one can change another person. All we can do is try to infuse our positive thoughts so that they may help themselves.

 

A couple weeks ago, Mini Boss and I were having some in-depth discussion about I don’t know what and she said “you know, I truly believe God helps those who help themselves.” And I sat there nodding, absorbing the sentiment of that statement. I think she’s right. Whatever forces are out there, I find that they are stronger when one has the willingness and positivity and state of mind to help oneself get to whatever point one wants to be at.

That’s the first step. Learning to be in a more positive state of mind. It’s hard, believe me, I know. But it’s possible. I just wish I could just plug my state of mind into others’ like a plug into a socket.

Comment!

