I Can’t Handle Life or Death Situations

Day 2.

Today I’m grateful for the privilege of being able to afford going to a gym and having my health in order to do anything there. I’m also extremely thankful that I overcame my fear and taught myself how to swim when I was 10 years old.

I say this because I went to the gym twice today. The first time was to the location near school, but I left because I forgot my shoes at home. On my way out, one of the employees ran past me and as I was walking out, I noticed other employees looking very concerned toward the pool area.

As it turns out, one of the patrons had drowned. He was laying by the whirlpool with a group of employees trying to recucitate him, and several other patrons still in the pool and whirlpool kind of looking on. They whipped out the defibrillator as I was leaving and ran it over to the pool. The ambulance came and everything, cause they were also calling 911 as I was leaving.

It was scary and intense and it reminded me of the time this summer when I saw that guy who had been hit by a van and was on the ground with a head injury, people holding him down so he wouldn’t injury himself further. And I teared up in my car for a hot second.

I really hope the guy at the gym didn’t die. It’s things like this that really remind me how precious life is and how easily it can be taken away. Sometimes you just have to step back and realize WOW, I’m alive. You know?

Comment!

