Detroit Design Festival 2012 – Runway Detroit

Oh my god.

Okay. Tonight, on the 364th day since I participated in the Detroit Design Festival last year, I did it again. This time? This time I did fashion instead of fine art. And I showcased (without my partner in crime Alyza cause she’s got the flu) our winning collection from the Imagine show in July. And it was kinda of glorious and I had like, real models. Or as real as they get in Detroit.

The carnation dress fit her perfectly.

And it was at Detroit City Airport in the Executive Hangar. There were personal airplanes and jets all over the place, by the runway, behind it, outside of it. It was legit. And there were various hors d’oeuvres – Lushous Cupcakes of Royal Oak (alcoholic cupcakes!), Hard Luck Candy Flavored Vodka, Sander’s Fine Chocolates, Diet Coke, etc. Due to an extreme lack of information as to what was going on with our models/hair&makeup/show order, my friend Tina and I basically hung out backstage and outside. Toward crunch time we were out and about “mingling” and drinking Hard Luck Vodka.

The lemon Hard Luck tastes like limoncello.

Thankfully, one of the other designers, Angela McBride (Peace Love and Spandex) sorted us out like the event coordinators should’ve done weeks ago – last minute. She gave us models and helped us all the way until we walked off the stage after our models. If it hadn’t been for her, god knows what would’ve happened.

I didn’t stay for the afterglow – mostly because Tina had a headache and we were kinda pooped and I also didn’t drive there. However, I did take I-696 to Tina’s and back home which is kinda of ironic because last year on the way back from DDF was  the last time I took the freeway anywhere. And I didn’t die! Again!

So that’s that.

And now, Day 13: 10 celebrity crushes.

1. Tom Felton
2. Hayden Christensen
3. Jake Gyllenhaal
4. Tobey Maguire
5. Robert Downey Jr.
6. Javier Bardem
7. Ben Kowalewicz
8. Jacob Hoggard
9. Pierre Bouvier
10. Jacoby Shaddix

Comment!

