More Books!

Day 10: 10 favorite novels.

Well, seeing as yesterday I mentioned that I don’t really have more than one favorite book series and I named off novels, I was planning on changing today’s to something different. But I think I might just stick to it and name some more great novels I’ve read in the past. Here goes!

1. Inside the Mind of Gideon Rayburn by Sarah Miller. This book is slightly confusing at first, as it literally takes place inside the mind of Gideon Rayburn (what a fantastic name!) through the viewpoint of a mysterious girl that we don’t find out the identity of until the very end of the story. But I remember reading it and thinking “I KNEW IT” when I found out.

2. The Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. I mean, obviously. If you haven’t read this book, you need to. That’s all I have to say.

3. Snakes and Earrings by Hitomi Kanehara. I judge books by their cover, as I mentioned yesterday. I also peruse the bargain priced section at Barnes & Noble and I often times find great books (like this one and Inside the Mind of Gideon Rayburn!) there. This is a tale of a Japanese girl full of weird raunchy shit, tattoos, and snaked tongues. I really liked it, and it’s a short read.

4. Looking for Alaska by John Green. This is his phenomenal debut book. That’s all I’ll say. You all need to read it if you haven’t, and reread if you have.

5. Feed by M.T. Anderson. HOW COULD I HAVE FORGOTTEN THIS ONE YESTERDAY!? This is one of my absolute favorite novels ever. It takes place in the future and it’s about a generation of humans with a “feed” (device) installed into their brains that automatically delivers everything the internet does today right to their brains and eyes, like some futuristic holographic type thing. More specifically, it’s about a girl who had her feed implanted later in life and it causes her problems. It’s an amazing story.

6. 1984 by George Orwell. Hello, classic. I was reluctant to read it after I bought, but I forced myself and ended up really liking it. Just like I didn’t want to read Animal Farm in high school, but I ended up loving it.

7. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood. Following the negative utopia reel, I read this book during one of my high school summers as part of my reading list and I really liked it. It’s the same idea as 1984 – oppressive society segmented into harsh classes, dumbed down language (though it is expertly written, trust me) etc. It’s kind of an underrated modern classic, in my opinion. This book is also a movie, but I have yet to see it. I really want to!

8. Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes. I don’t know what prompted me to buy this book, but I did and it was a great choice. It starts off kind of slow mostly due to the language. It’s about a mentally retarded patient who starts taking experiment drugs and ends up being a super genius far surpassing expectations. It was a really good book.

9. Witch Child by Celia Rees. In middle school, I was really into books that took place in the “olden days”. This particular one took me a while to read only because I was so busy with classwork, but it was a pretty phenomenal read. It takes place in 1659 and it’s about this girl whose grandma is hanged in public as a witch and she then faces the same speculations. One thing I always remember when I think of this book was a part where she talks about sewing I think money into her clothes or bed sheets or something like that.

10. Queen’s Own Fool by Jane Yolen and Robert Harris. As I’ve mentioned, I adore period novels, mostly set in the Renaissance and involving the British monarchy. This one involves Elizabeth I’s cousin, Mary, Queen of Scots. It’s a fictional novel depicting the life of her court fool, Nicola. I remember being so inspired by this book that I started writing basically a fanfiction.

Comment!

