Albert Nobbs and Tuna Casserole

So, I’ve wanted to see Albert Nobbs since it came out, though with more enthusiasm when I saw Glenn Close nominated for her role as Albert Nobbs at the last Academy Awards. I was going to rent it from Family Video or Amazon, but hadn’t. Today I browsed Netflix’s newest releases and was far too excited to find that it was among them. SO I WATCHED IT.

At first I was like, this is a pretty good movie. It was certainly interesting watching Glenn Close look like a man, yet in the back of my mind thinking “that is Cruella de Vil.” And the minute I saw a good enough close up of “Hubert Page” I was like THAT IS A WOMAN POSING AS A MAN. And I was right. So I mentally high fived myself.

Anyway, somehow toward the end I started feeling less excited about the movie. I mean it was still interesting, but eh. I did enjoy all the various actors in the mix though – Jonathon Rhys-Meyers and Maria Doyle Kennedy (both played in The Tudors; King Henry, his first wife, Catherine of Aragon), Brendan Gleeson (Mad-Eye Motherfucking Moody!) Bronagh Gallagher (Tristan & Isolde) and Mia Wasikowska (Alice from Alice in Wonderland). I was amused.

I also cooked today, instead of doing homework like I probably should have. Sometimes I just get urges to cook and bake, and I couldn’t help myself today. I made tuna casserole and lemon cheesecake – which took like 5000 years to bake! But they both turned out great, except the tuna casserole got all dry on top because according to my mom, I should’ve covered it with foil. Oh well.

P.S. I really don’t like the term “casserole”.

Comment!

