PostSecrets.

I have this picture I developed of a sort of friend from 2 years ago that I gave him but he gave back to me because he said he didn’t know what to do with pictures of himself, and it’s sitting at the bottom of one of my school totes. Every time I’ve seen it recently, I have come to the conclusion that I must make it into a PostSecret and mail it in.

This is actually a conclusion I’ve come to many times, and not just about pictures I own. Every so often, I catch pictures on Tumblr that look like they might be PostSecrets but they’re not, and I’m inspired to make PostSecrets and send them in. I’ve done it maybe once or twice. I think both times when I sent them off it was raining.

But I think everyone should make a PostSecret at least once in their lives. And send them to Frank. There are 3 parts to the fun of PostSecrets:

1. Making them.
2. Sending them.
3. Waiting to see if they’ll ever be posted on the site of published in the books. (Or taken on tour at the PostSecret events, if you attend one.)

Also, fun fact, did you know the music video for the All-American Rejects song Dirty Little Secret features real PostSecrets? You’re welcome.

And while I’m at it, I’ll throw in a complaint. I love PostSecret with all my heart. My friend Betsy introduced me to the site years ago and I’ve stayed loyal and checked it every Sunday. But it seems to both of us (and quite some other people as well) that the secrets have recently lacked the luster and charm they used to once have. I’m not sure why. But they just don’t seem as “good” as they used to be a couple years ago.

But oh well. I still check them every Sunday.

Comment!

