Olympic Thoughts

I was browsing my Facebook feed when I saw that swimmer Dara Torres had written an article for USA Today, talking about how weird it is to be at the Olympics and not be competing. Previous to that, I had seen a photo of her at the Olympic Village in London talking to the press and I thought to myself “WOW she’s competing again this year? That’s fucking awesome.” Clearly I was disappointed to find she is not.

I’m also disappointed to have found out that I will be working tomorrow when NBC airs the opening ceremony. Luckily though, I know that the opening ceremony is like, HOURS long, so I’ll only miss the first 2 and a half. However, I’ve also realized that this year sucks harder not just because of work, but because of school as well. I will be cooped up the majority of the Olympics, and will not be able to enjoy them live. Not that stupid fucking NBC like ever shows anything Olympic live anyway. I bet they wouldn’t even do it if it was in America.

But still – I always look forward to the Olympics. My first memorable ones were Sydney 2000. I had just gotten a TV in my room and I don’t remember if I was sick or something, but I remember being in bed and my dad taking care of me…or maybe just bringing me breakfast, and I was watching them. It was thrilling. That’s when I first really understood and grasped the concept of the Olympics.

And then the Olympics in Athens in 2004 were quite exciting as well. I remember that year I took it upon myself to chronicle the achievements of all the Romanian athletes on a piece of paper I’d torn out from my diary. I had that paper for a few years afterwards, for posterity’s sake. I also remember that was the year Michael Phelps started to get attention. I don’t remember his achievements in 2004, but I know the buzz started.

And then the 2008 Olympics in Beijing were certainly memorable. Not only did Michael Phelps pretty much make his name unforgettable with 8 gold medals, but the wunderkid that is Usain Bolt did too. That man shattered records. I’ll never forget watching him run faster than my poor legs will ever hope to carry me and everyone’s minds being blown in those 9.69 seconds of that 100 meter dash.

I remember in 2009 when I went to Jamaica, I rode this like…air-carriage thing and got off at a little stop that had shops and almost like an outdoor museum with interesting facts about Jamaica. One of the pillars was about various famous Jamaican athletes. Asafa Powell had one side of a pillar to himself. But in an empty space on it, there was a golden plaque that mentioned that Usain Bolt had broken his records and he was no longer the fastest man in the world. I should’ve taken a picture of it, it was kind of hilarious.

Anyway, I really hope I’ll find time somewhere in my busy schedule to watch the Olympics. Cause I love that shit.

Comment!

