The Exhilarating Feeling of Fitting Into American Eagle Jeans

I have a love/hate relationship with American Eagle. I’ve only ever bought anything from AE three times in the last decade, and one of those times was a present for a friend. In middle school and high school, AE allured me simply because the “popular” kids wore it. All the fucking time. I’m not saying I wanted to be one of them though – on the contrary, I took measures to make sure I wasn’t like them, clothing choices included.

Yet, AE still has this allure of like, being “cool” or something. Admittedly, it’s kind of douchebaggy – but not as douchebaggy as Hollister or Abercrombie & Fitch. Anyway, it’s been a long and silly dream of mine to one day be able to fit my ass into a pair of AE jeans. In high school, I remember walking down the halls getting to classes or my locker and staring at everyone’s butts, ticking off in my head who was wearing what brand of jeans by the butt pocket design. I was that skilled, yes, thank you. AE and Hollister, once it became more popular, were among the top along with Levi’s.

Today, after much mental battle and self-coercion, I went to Lakeside Mall after not going there for about 3 years, and American Eagle was one of my last stops. I somehow ended up at their website last night and saw that they were having a nice clearance sale, so I wanted to stop in and see what they had in person and try shit on. I quite luckily found some 16 and 18 jeans in their clearance and tried them on. The first pair I tried on were 16 and THEY FIT ME LIKE A GODDAMN GLOVE. I literally jumped up and down in the fitting room because I was so excited and did a little “FUCK YEAH YOU’RE COMING HOME WITH ME” dance.

I also got that tank and hoodie today, at PacSun. Clearance!

I’m still excited about them. They’re 16s! I can’t wait to fit into 14s. Progress!
I also somehow felt less judged in American Eagle than I did in PacSun at Lakeside. WEIRD.

Comment!

