A Series of Stops and Starts

Sometimes I sit in front of my laptop for a few minutes trying to think of what to write about and ultimately end up writing about what I did that today. I just came out of a little trance like that in which my final thought was “life is a series of stops of and starts.

I can’t remember if I’ve written about this philosophy before, but it’s one that I’ve held for a long time. I most often think of it while I’m driving, because driving is the perfect example of it. I avoid taking the freeways, so I encounter stoplights and stop signs all the time. Driving is a series of stops and starts. In comparison, life is too.

We go from being wee little kids, starting and stopping years of school, knowing and unknowing friends, to continuing that cycle as we get older. As I’m coming up on my last year of college, I can hear the low screech of my education stopping, and the “real world” on the brink of starting. It’s going to be another chapter of discarding “friends” who were probably not really friends to begin with, to encountering and acquainting new friends. It’s like cutting strings and tying knots to new ones.

That’s just my two cents of wisdom for the day.

I went up to school to fix the atrocious saggy boob situation that was happening on our gray dress with Alyza. Now all I have to do is iron everything tomorrow. We had lunch with Alyza’s manfriend Ross at 2Booli afterwards and I had the most delicious dish I’ve tried there: Mjadara.

It’s a vegetarian dish consisting of lentils and rice topped with cooked onions (SO GOOD) and decorated with tomatoes, lemon wedges, and pickled turnip. Also served with a side of plain yogurt. It was really good. I have leftovers that I will be eating for dinner. I need to learn to cook this meal.

Comment!

