Deal of the Day: Calypso St. Barth

I don’t know how I’ve done it, but I’ve managed to get out of the house and shop every single day of break so far. Yesterday was by necessity due to me breaking Amadeus’s fishbowl. Today I decided that a blouse I’d found at Plato’s Closet last week was meant to be mine, so with the intent of finding it again and buying it, I headed out.

I was sorely disappointed that it had been snatched up by someone else and I mentally kicked myself repeatedly for not getting it last week, BUT I still scored. I found a beautiful 100% silk scarf by Calypso St. Barth for Target (last summer’s cooperative designers) for $3. THREE DOLLARS. I mentally peed my pants a little. One of my favorite things about thrifting is that often I’ll find items that are underpriced because the brands aren’t recognized (but they’ll be brands from like Nordstrom and such) and I get the best fucking deals due to the ignorance. I high five myself every time.

Me, looking like Santa Maria or something, in this gorgeous as fuck scarf.

While I’m still on the subject, I would like to mention that I love Calypso St. Barth. If I could do my internship with them, I would in a heartbeat. I think they’re a wonderfully focused company with an amazing aesthetic and absolutely stunning clothes. If I were a real rich kid, I’d shop them all the time. Seriously. Err’day. (P.S. They’re having 40% off final sale right now!) ALSO, I would love to get into dying and making and selling my own scarves. I need bolts of silk.

I also swam for about 3 hours today. I got out after about an hour or so and was going to go shower and get on with my day, but then I convinced myself (with a push from my mom) that days in the upper 90s like this one will not be seen very often in the coming weeks, I don’t think. So I enjoyed the pure, cloudless blue sky and unobstructed sun for another 2 hours. It was glorious. I think I might’ve gotten tanner, which has been my plan all along.

I half hope that next summer I won’t have a job that requires me to be cooped up inside all day, because nothing sucks bigger donkey dicks than being pale as hell during summer. Tans confirm that you’ve had a good summer. I’ll never let that idea go, no matter who or what tries to tell me otherwise. Fuck sunscreen. That is all.

Comment!

