Scents of Summer

I don’t remember what part of today first set this off, but I have made it my mission to remember to focus on writing about smells today. Perhaps it was making some of the mulling spice tea from Sur La Table that jump-started me. I’d like to first mention that perhaps I didn’t put enough of it in my water, although I thought I did, but it was disappointingly bland. Secondly, it has anise in it and I love the smell of anise. It’s got a weird texture, like slate. And it always reminds me of the time in 9th grade when I made bought anise seeds so I could make anise seed cookies for my Spanish class. I have never made again, but I think I should sometime…

Today was a really gorgeous day in terms of weather. I made an impulse decision that I needed to get out of the house and exercise, so I did. I was hit by the scent of a breezy, cooler summer day. I felt confident and good about myself. On one of the streets I walked, I encountered a scent that will forever remind me of my friend Kris and the winter of 2010.

It’s a bit embarrassing now, but back then when I had a raging lady boner for him, I remember I told him he smelled really good a few times. One of those times, he told me it was just his soap. I can’t for the life of me remember what that soap was called but I think it may have had the words spring, arbor, or mist in it. Maybe all three? Anyway, over the last year and a half, I occasionally get a whiff of it and am transported back to those winter nights when I’d leave work at 7, the green scent of that damn soap clinging to my nostrils, with the biggest smile on my face because I felt happy. I remember he gave me a hoodie to embroider with the Assassin’s Creed logo and all I could do for weeks was just sniff it because it smelled so good.

Later, I had Indian for dinner with my mom. We had lemon rice and Jaipur vegetables. Every time I have Jaipur vegetables, I want to gag a little at the smell. It kind of smells like baby vomit, which is not enticing at all. However, it tastes SO DAMN GOOD. This usually reminds me of the period of time a little over a decade ago when we lived in the apartments – my parents would buy this really nasty smelling microwavable pasta salad. I can’t even describe the colors of it, but I remember it was a sharp smell and I would lock myself in my room and always be angry that they kept making it. It was terrible.

Lastly, tonight I watched the movie Exit Through the Gift Shop featuring Banksy and Thierry Guetta. It was a really good movie and I loved seeing behind the scenes stuff from Banksy. However, toward the end it really showcased how Thierry became Mr. Brainwash and how he operates his artwork business. He calls himself a street artist, and by no means do I mean to discredit that. If anything, I thought his perseverance and determination to make a movie about street art was amazing, not to mention the huge undertaking of his big showcase in LA. But when they showed how he runs his art business behind the scenes, I felt…I don’t know…a little annoyed? As my mom put it, it’s kind of like a fashion designer. He has all the ideas, but he has other people do the work.

Thierry did the artwork for Madonna’s Greatest Hits album cover.

He basically comes up with the ideas and has a staff of computer savvy people Photoshop the pieces into being and then puts his MBW (Mr. Brainwash) logo on them. It annoys me because I feel like, even though you’re conceptualizing the idea, it’s not exactly you’re work. But then, I kinda feel like a future-hypocrite because my life goal is to have other people do my work for me. As Roger Sterling would put it “I’m rich, why should I have to do the work?” Yet, when it comes to pure art, and I consider street art to of that nature, it just seems like…wrong, to do that. You know? Just my two cents.

Comment!

