Hey Garnier, This One’s For You.

Dear Garnier,

Okay, listen. I love you guys to death. About 2 years ago when I discovered you had invented store-buyable hair dye that is meant for dark-haired who want to be redheads like myself, I about shit my pants. I have found that particular line to be rather phenomenal. Nutrisse Ultra-Color R3 Light Intense Auburn is my best friend. Or rather, has been.

However, for a while now I’ve wanted to change my hair color to a more browny based auburn as opposed to the ever-beloved intense red-auburn that I’m used to. So I turned to your Nutrisse Ultra-Color B2 Reddish Brown, figuring that it was close enough to the R3 that you wouldn’t notice much difference.

Now, let me preface tonight’s hair coloring adventure by saying that I have tried, for many months, to research whether or not it’s okay to use the browns Ultra-Color line on top of the reds Ultra-Color line, and have come up with zero results. ZERO. Maybe it’s because no one has ever wanted to go reddish brown, I don’t know. But I’m going to make my blog the one with the answer to this question: IS IT OKAY TO DYE YOUR HAIR WITH GARNIER NUTRISSE ULTRA-COLOR B2 AFTER USING GARNIER NUTRISSE ULTRA-COLOR R3? The answer? FUCKING NO. NO, PEOPLE, NO.

I feel like this should be a question that you, Garnier, should answer on your boxes or your website, but alas, you do not. So I had to experiment on my precious hair. And the answer is that I AM A DAMN TWO-TONED GINGER. My roots are GOLDEN and the rest of my hair is just a touch more auburny red. I’ve been trying to convince myself for the past hour that it looks okay, but I surrendered and called my hair stylist to make an appointment for Friday to fix this shit. I can’t live with myself knowing I’ll be three-toned when my new roots come in.

I also can’t live with having GODDAMN HOT ROOTS. When I got out of the shower to grab the conditioner, I checked my hair real quick to see if it had turned the color I was expecting and I almost shit myself. I got back in the shower screaming “OH GOD I HAVE HOT ROOTS, OH GOD I HAVE HOT ROOTS!

Now, I should mention that I did not follow the instructions in the manual. I slapped all of the color on all my hair because I figured this was going to be like a prolonged touchup, rather than a first time dye (which says to put color on the ends first, then the roots). But honestly, I highly doubt that that would’ve made any difference. I probably still would’ve had hot roots.

Also, before any of you hair color gurus jump down my throat, I am fully aware of how this whole hair coloring thing works. My wonderful friend Alyza has explained it to me many times – but as I said before, I thought that since B2 was part of the same type of coloring line, it wasn’t going to make me DAMN GINGER. Thanks for letting me down internet and Yahoo answers! *Sigh*

I want to say lesson learned, but this is like summer of 2009 all over again when I tried to go blonde after my hair had been dyed black previously. Really bad idea. Really bad.

Either way, FOR THE LOVE OF GOD GARNIER, SPARE OTHER PEOPLE FROM THIS MISHAP. LET US KNOW THAT WE CAN’T BE SWITCHING LINES ULTRA-COLOR LINES ALL OVER THE PLACE.

Love and a few tears,
Viviana

3 thoughts on “Hey Garnier, This One’s For You.

Comment!

