Dear Nordstrom Rack

Dear Nordstrom Rack,

I have a bone to pick with you Nordy. You were one of my favorite stores to shop at for a few years because I always found stellar deals. $9.97 tank top in clearance with an extra 50% off!? DON’T MIND IF I DO.

Except, those were the golden days. See, about a year ago, I noticed your clearance section and prices in general changed, along with your store layout (at least the store I go to) and I wept a little on the inside. No more extra % off clearance? Shoes starting at $40? You’re making a bargainista cry, Nordy.

While my mad shopping skills still get me spectacular deals from you, I mourn the long gone days of extra %s off and shoes worthy of my $40. I’m sorry Nordy, but Steve Madden patent flats should never cost $39.97, discounted. That’s not a deal, that’s retail thievery. I’ll pay $40 for Vince Camuto pumps, but not for brand-name knock offs. I cross the line at unreasonable pricing of shit that will fall apart too quickly, and Steve Madden shoes is one of them.

Also, let’s get real about Betsey Johnson here for a second. That bitch is going out of business and we all know she’s trying to milk it out to the last penny she can get. However, we all also know that her shit should be marked down regardless of where it’s sold. I paid $48 for one of her watches today because A. I love Betsey Johnson watches and B. I’ve been looking for a new one for about 2 years and I finally found one that I liked that I know it would’ve sold if I hadn’t snatched it. That said, I’m kinda of pissed it wasn’t marked down more, to be honest. I shouldn’t have to pay more for this watch than I did for my first one 4 years ago when she’s going out of business. Just sayin’.

Lastly, I just want to say that you should totally bring back extra %s off clearance, Nordy. You and I both know that it would make your shit sell faster and in the end you’d probably make the same amount of $$$ you’re making now. Come on, you know you want to.

A silently weeping customer,
Viviana.

P.S. I totally bought this ring today at Loehmann’s for $30fuckingdollars. It was in clearance for 70% off $119.98 and I got a 20% off coupon when I walked in the door. I saved $283.71. Sterling silver with 14k gold overlay and citrine-colored cubic zirconia. I’d be happier if it was real citrine, which I feel like it should be, considering it was originally $325 retail. WTF Paige Novick, you skanky whore. 

Comment!

