Hey A.Bot, This One’s For You

Dear Alyza,

As I down this last bit of Seagram’s Escapes Jamaican Me Happy, I toast to you, you wonderful and crazy girl that you are. I continue you find it interesting that you, Betsy, and Maria are the three ladies in my life that I consider sister-like and you are all Capricorns. I have told you that before, but I feel like I need to say it again because I feel like it has some deeper meaning. Regardless, I want you to know from the bottom of my heart just how much you mean to me.

Whatever power brought us together, whether it be fate or God or coincidence, I am ever so grateful to it that we had orientation together and you sat next to me. And that we had College Success together and then accidentally got the same classes the next term and so on, until we finally just kind of became friends and decided to take the same classes at the same time, always. I’ve told you this a million times, but I will never forget eyeballing you from afar in College Success and thinking “yes, this girl will be my friend” and it was so.

I don’t know how I would’ve survived college without you to keep me insanely sane, and I will bet like, a dollar, that it goes both ways. I’m so happy you walked into my life and brightened it up and continue to brighten it up with your crazy loud self. I love that you accept me for who I am and don’t judge (for the most part) all the stupid shit I say and do and wear. I love that I can be myself around you without having to hold anything back. Thank you for being a “comfortable” friend. I hope you feel just as comfortable with me as I do with you.

I mean, look at us. We’re fucking fabulous.

Also, thank you thank you thank you for keeping me on track in school. You’re kind of my academic lifesaver, what with understanding pattern drafting and all that fancy shit better than me. Most often than not I’m off in la-la-land in my mind and the idea of even trying to grasp any of it feels like numb hands. You know? What I’m trying to say is that I appreciate your vast understanding of these things and that being your friend has its benefits when it comes to making clothes. That totally makes me sound like a friendwhore.

Anyway, I look forward to “galavanting” with you tomorrow and for always. Also, I’m pretty sure I’ve told you this before and I’m pretty sure you’ve given me the “really now?” Alyza look, but you’re obviously going to be one of my future bridesmaids at my apparent future wedding. Just sayin’. 

Cheers to unicorns and ultra-virginity,
Vipo.

Comment!

