For BetsyBee.

Dear Betsy,

Have you been anticipating this? I can’t remember if I told you that you were on my list, but today is your day! Brace yourself, we’re about to go down memory lane. Let me start off by saying that even after all this time, I still think we met in an AIM chatroom, even though you continuously tell me we met on Neopets and I know that you’re probably right, but I honestly can’t visually remember that in my mind. Either way, you must know by now that you are the longest online friend I’ve ever had that I still actively talk to you on a nearly day to day basis. Whatever forces of nature brought us together in friendship should be worshiped, because I couldn’t have asked for a better best-online-friend.

It still blows my mind every time I remember just how long we’ve been friends: like 8 or 9 years, Bee. Obviously you know this cause I mention it often enough, but I want to emphasize that for all the world. 8 or 9 years of online friendship and after all those years, last month we finally met in person and it was pretty awesome! It made me wish even more that we lived in the same area so we could go adventuring together to psychics and thrift stores and art galleries and things.

But it’s okay because even though we don’t live within driving distance of less than a day, this wonderful invention called an internet connection allows us to chat all the time. Not to mention text messages. And I am so grateful for that. I’m so grateful that you’re always so patient and kind an understanding when I tell you about all the stupid things in my life, from love to school to work and everything inbetween. I’m such a lucky girl to have such an amazing friend like you. You are one in a billion, Bee, and I want you to know I appreciate you more than you will ever know.

You have been there for me for so long. You know more about me than perhaps sometimes I even know about myself, and that’s probably part of the reason we’re still friends after so long. You put up with my antics and my gripes and always give me answers that I need to hear. Sometimes they’re what I want to hear, but most times they’re what I need to hear, and for that, I admire you even more. You’ve helped to give me a backbone throughout the years. You are part of the glue that holds me together and I cannot imagine my life without you in it, reminding me of “lobbing” cherries at my brother and that notorious Gazelle incident.

Thank you for putting up with me, for giving me advice in every aspect of my life,  and for all around being a magnificent friend. Words will never truly express how much you really mean to me and I want you to know I mean that from the bottom of my heart. I love you very much Bee, and you will definitely be the other maid of honor at my apparent future wedding, because I’m going to break the “rules” and have 2 amazing maids of honor. Damnstraight.

Love, chasing pigs and chocolate covered bing cherries,
Viviana.

P.S. I feel like this letter is insufficient in saying what I really want to say. IT’S OKAY THOUGH CAUSE WE’LL PROBABLY DISCUSS IT WHEN YOU GET ONLINE.

Comment!

