Sometimes I Hate Coming Up with Titles.

I think I’ve done it. I think I’ve finally become the kind of photographer that 12 year old me would envy and strive to one day become. Of course, as with anything, there is always room to grow, and I acknowledge that within my arts. However, I think I’ve finally stepped on the threshold of legitimately quality photography in my own eyes. I’m proud of myself for continuing to get better and better. Especially at editing. Taking good photos is of course the first step because shitty photos aren’t worth anything. But editing them is sometimes more exciting than the actual action of photography. You get to morph something beautiful into something that entirely eclipses the original beauty.

Here’s the photo that made me realize I’m actually kind of awesome (also a sneak peek of the next Vivography post!).

I feel like it’s brushing shoulders with professionalism and it really makes me stand back and take a look at the growth progression of my skills. And again, I am so proud of myself. I’ve worked hard for this! I don’t care if no one else recognizes that because I recognize it in myself and that’s the most important part. It’s kind of like the idea of “you can’t love anyone if you don’t know how to love yourself first” which I completely agree with.

Anyway, today in my Film & Lit class we watched Young Frankenstein starring Gene Wilder and it was quite possibly the best damn adaptation of Frankenstein I’ve had the immense pleasure of watching. It was hilarious! My class and I all laughed out loud constantly throughout the movie. It was so good, which is not something I would normally say about anything related to Frankenstein because I think the story is a bore. But I really enjoyed this movie and I highly recommend you all go and watch it right now, whether you’ve seen it before or not!

Speaking of movies, I watched one on Netflix about a week ago called Máncora. If you like foreign and artsily-cinematic films, watch it. It takes place in Lima (and Máncora) and chronicles a period of time in main character Santiago’s life after his father commits suicide. His step-sister Ximena and her husband come to visit in Lima and find out he’s leaving the next day for Máncora, so they follow him. I won’t say anything further because it’ll give away the plot, but it’s worth watching! And if you have Netflix it’s on instant, you have no excuse.

Lastly, and this doesn’t have anything to do with anything else – I desperately need a new phone and I am highly disappointed in the selection Verizon has to offer. The only enticing option I see is the iPhone and I don’t want to get an iPhone because they’re iCraps that you can’t do shit on and also I hate Apple. I wish I could get the HTC One X – IT’S WHITE, DAMNIT, IT’S WHITE – but I would never switch to AT&T. Grumble grumble, “first world problems” I don’t give a fuck, I just want a phone that won’t tell me I’m low on space when I’M NOT. Fuck you O.G. HTC Incredible! The new Incredible 4G LTE better be less shitty.

Comment!

