Double-Dipping, Bitches!

I am so excited right now! I just came home from model casting for this year’s fashion show about half an hour ago and let me first say that the models I chose for mine and Alyza’s flower collection are so cute. Especially the first one, Megan. She’s got one of those adorable “button” faces as I like to call them. Round, buttony nose, adorable smile and bubbly personality to match. The third one, Jessa, is also similar, although she didn’t seem as bubbly. And the second one, Jane, is COLOSSALLY TALL. 5’11” without heels and she had on like 5 inchers today. I felt like a very tiny person next to her and I’m 5’7″.

Secondly, I picked plus size models for my “just in case” they need extra designers to show collection and they’re all extremely and WONDERFULLY curvacious. But the best part is that as I was leaving, I was discussing the whole “just in case” situation again with the teachers in charge of the show and was given the thumbs up to submit my plus collection for sure!! Now all that’s left is to make it past the jury show! (And make the whole PodBot collection, but we won’t talk about that yet.)

Speaking of plus sizes, today my mom and I went shopping at Great Lakes Crossing cause it’s been a while since we were last there. One of the last places we stopped was H&M which I always forget is there and am perpetually excited to find. Anyway, I discovered they carried the H&M plus size collection and was extremely disappointed in their line. One all-over glance gave me the impression of depression and closer inspection made me realize all the items were matronly.

I don’t understand what’s so hard about designing plus sizes that don’t make you look like a goddamn grandma. These companies need to hire me, clearly. H&M targets 20 and 30 somethings, yet they fall short in their plus sizes. No 20 or 30 something wants to look like they’re in retirement. They need to take a hint from Forever21 and refine it. Fortunately for me, I can fit into their knit size larges, so I ended up buying two modern mod dresses with the nearly-skanky length I associate with Zooey Deschanel.

See what I mean?

Also, I just want to boast for a second about my best deal of the day: GAP Outlet. I bought a tshirt and dress in the clearance section (and underwear for my brother which he says he won’t wear, but that’s what he said about the pairs I got him last time too and he’s totally been wearing them…even if it took a couple months for that to happen) with an extra 40% off. The dress was originally $70. I got it for $6.59. SIX DOLLARS AND FIFTY-NINE CENTS PEOPLE. I was SO happy. It rustles when I walk. <3

On another note, we stopped at Lowe’s on the way back home from Great Lakes and I nearly bought a terranium. I’ve always been fascinated by terraniums, and it doesn’t help that they’re very much in style right now, but I resisted because it was $25 and I could make it for way less. However, I did buy the cutest little vintage-looking handheld mister. It looks like a weird perfume bottle and it will be perfect for misting my future terranium.

Time to buy some giantass mason jars.

Comment!

