Shopping in Philly

You know, the cool thing about “real” cities(in comparison to Detroit) is that you have to walk places. Or bike. Or both to take the subway. It’s fantastic exercise. I’m pretty sure I’m losing a little more weight this week. Today after a shopping trip over in New Jersey, Maria and I spent the first half of the afternoon before her class walking around the downtown area of Philly. We went through the city hall building, which is very beautiful and has really nice architectural design.

We also shopped around a bit and went into this Abercrombie & Fitch/Ralph Lauren/Tommy Hilfiger meets Better/Bridge price points store called Jack Wills. It’s like all preppy ivy-league style clothes with a mixture of soft colors and designs. The fabrics and finishes were really nice too. Lots of silks and satin weaves. I really wanted to get something from them and I thought about getting a scarf, but it was $80.00 and I was like ummmmm no.

Seriously, if I were more of a Bridge shopper, I'd be in this place all the time.

We had lunch at this quaint little Arabic restaurant that if I lived in this city, I would probably never even have noticed. It was sort of in the basement on a some street, but it was really neat. We both ordered chicken kebobs that came with long-grain rice (super delicious!). They served us salad (Romanian style, as I like to consider it; tomatoes, cucumbers, onions in vinegar and EVOO with salt and pepper) and whole wheat naan bread with mint chutney as the appetizer. I wish we had this kind of stuff over in Michigan.

Fooooood.

Afterwards, we shopped around some more and ended up in Anthropologie, which is inside this old mansion. It was absolutely beautiful. I don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned this before, but Anthropologie is one of my favorite stores of all time. One of the best things about them is that none of their stores look the same. They’ve all got the same merchandise (give or take some items) but their store layout differs. It was really cool to see a few sections of the Philly store today. I bought an apron for my mom and a fragrance stick. Success!

Day 25: If you could have dinner with anyone in history, who would it be and what would you eat?
Okay, I would love to have dinner with Queen Elizabeth the First and Mozart. They’re my favorite people in history. We’d probably eat like a HUGE FEAST that included pheasant, various pies, fancy carved fruits and veggies and dips and other fancy styled foods. Just imagine a classic royal feast and imagine me sitting in a huge ornate room with these two, sippin’ Pink Moscato and having intellectual conversation. Yes.

Comment!

