What It Feels Like To Be Hit On By A Bible-Humping Nigerian Guy.

Tonight I attended my friend’s 21st birthday “party”. Her ex-boyfriend “surprise” showed up (she knew he was going to because her mom spoiled it) and brought his friend. They’re both Nigerian. My mistake was sitting down to eat a doughnut hole or three, which led to his friend hitting on me. All night long. This included asking me if I went to church, if I’ve ever been married, if I have a boyfriend. He also declared we must be Facebook friends and then kinda made me give him my number “in case he doesn’t find me correctly on FB.”

It probably has a lot to do with the fact that I don’t get hit on – like, ever – but this was a highly awkward night full of me trying to avoid him as much as possible and not knowing how to react when he told my friend, in front of me, and I quote “Your friend is very beautiful.” I remember thinking this must be a cultural thing, to say such things out loud. *Sigh* Why can’t this happen with people I like, like HNI?

Anyway, I made Tiramisu today, but I didn’t have time to cut it and take pictures because I had to pop it in the fridge for 3 hours before serving. But pictures to come soon! Speaking of which, I’ve been thinking that perhaps I might start that photography blog HNI keeps nudging me to start. It doesn’t have to be a 365 kind of thing, which I had to remind myself of today. That means I don’t have to maintain it CONSTANTLY like this blog. I’ll announce when I start it. 

Oh, and P.S. This Red Wings vs Oilers game is fantastic due to the amount of fights that are breaking out. I know the NHL “outlawed” them – WHICH I HIGHLY DISAGREE WITH – but I am loving seeing these little scraps break out. I miss the old fighting days. And oh, fuck. The the Oilers scored again. 0-3. OH YAY, 1-3!

Comment!

