A New Era.

While doing my first browse of Tumblr for the day, a particularly long post showed up with several pictures taken of signs. Depending on my mood, I either do or don’t read posts like that. However, I checked the title of the post and realized it was pictures of signs of bookstores going out of business – because of e-readers.

This reminded me of being in Borders for the last time and feeling the sting of tears pushing against my eyes. I’ll never forget standing there looking at the place stripped to its bare bones, the furniture having SOLD signs on it. I stood there and thought to myself, “This is the end of an era.”

And so it is. And it is depressing to realize that something that has been part of our culture for thousands of years is finally being eclipsed by something that has only flourished within the last few years or so. What’s next? Cursive is nearly obsolete – I bet writing by hand is going to be obsolete in the years to come, and that’s just a shame. Although I guess the irony is that I’m typing this post and not writing it, isn’t it?

Nonetheless, pay attention good people to the changing times. A rift is occurring in our times that will change everything forever.

Comment!

